TeenageBeauty1

TeenageBeauty2

TeenageBeauty3

I took a trip down memory lane the other day when I stumbled across my old leavers book from school and spent hours leafing through reading and re-reading all of the different jokes, profiles and anecdotes that fill each page. But in addition to all of the entertaining reminders of what wonderful little weirdos we all were, one thing which struck me most was how different  my make up tastes were back then.

The most obvious aspect was my obsession with turquoise and green eyeliners. Oh boy did I love a good blue eye back in the day; my beauty stash was full to the brim of brightly coloured emerald eyeliners – mostly from MAC – and I rarely lined my lids with anything else, other than a much-loved glitter shadow that is. I also had a particular penchant for a good nude lip and I mean really nude; we’re talking actual concealer used in place of a proper lip products here people. Add to that some remarkably clear and smooth teenage skin and a good whack of bronzer – even back then my love for NARS Laguna was already going strong – and you have my favoured schooltime look.

Having already started my stroll into the past, I thought why not continue down the path of products past and attempt to recreate my old blue-eyed beauty look, with more of a nod to my current tastes. A quick raid of my current stash provided me with quite the selection of turquoise eye products in the form of the MAC Powerpoint Pencil in So There Jadethe Lancome Khol in Love in Jade Crush and the Avon Super Shock Pencil Eyeliner in Aqua PopSo I guess my turquoise obsession never really came to an end…? Although this time around it was applied in a more restrained manner than I might once have used, with the addition of some brown liner and shadow to tone down the bright pop of blue. And in place of the glitter I turned to more of a shimmery shadow courtesy of the L’Oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Iced LatteNot quite as full on as my once-treasured glitter shadows but it has a similar effect.

Moving onto the lips and I decided to opt for an actual lipstick instead of the old concealer trick. Enter MAC Lipstick in Creme d’Nudea light nude shade which manages to highlight and plump the lips rather than making them blend totally into the face – much like my old concealer trick used to! Add to that a light dusting of Bourjois Maxi Delight Bronzer and the teenage look is complete.

So what do you guys think? Is it a look worth bringing back into regular use again?

One thought on “Taking a trip down make up memory lane

  1. Divya says:

    Aah I love that blue liner on you! gorgeous! Turquoise is the color of the moment!

    New Chanel Les Beiges Multi COlor No. 02 review | TheConscienceFund

Leave a comment