Glossybox1

Glossybox2* c/o glossybox x superdrug £10 *

For those of you that don’t know, one of my favourite high street beauty stores – Superdrug – celebrated its 50th birthday last month *waves a banner* and to celebrate this mega milestone, the store has released a series of tip top beauty collaborations with the likes of Barry M, Bourjois, Olay and now beauty box brand Glossybox.

Now, beauty boxes have gone through a bit of a rough time recently; after bursting onto the beauty scene as the hot new thing, it seems like they’ve slowly fallen off the radar a bit. I’m not sure whether it’s because people felt they’d got a bit stale in terms of content, or whether people just tired of the whole idea, but for whatever reason the once-loved beauty box concept just doesn’t seem to be as popular as it once was.

Well Glossybox are doing their best to change that – and to shake up the whole concept of the beauty box with some exciting and fresh new ideas, kicking off with the Superdrug collaboration. Themed as the ‘summer beauty edit’, the box’s description promised an enticing four full-sized products as well as a few sample sizes. So far so good.

Full-size wise, my box contained:

∞ MaxFactor Facefinity All Day Primer – the formula promises to absorb sweat, smooth the complexion and prolong the wear time of your foundation. Now I love the foundation from the same line so I’m really excited to try this bad boy out

∞ Rimmel Scandaleyes Retro Glam Mascara – full fluttery eyelashes? Yes please. I’m a huge fan of Rimmel’s Scandaleyes line so I have high hopes for this mascara formula

∞ Scholl Velvet Smooth Overnight Mask – this may sound weird but this was actually the product that I was the most excited about. Summer means flip flops and flip flops mean feet on show and I’m grateful for any product that will help whip my tootsies into top notch condition

∞ Schwarzkopf Essence Ultime Crystal Shine Conditioner – I’m more than happy to test out any conditioner that promises to leave your hair looking healthy, happy and shiny, particularly if it has Claudia Schiffer’s backing. Schwarzkopf isn’t a brand that I’ve tried out a lot in the past either so I’m interested to see how it compares to some of my other favourites

∞ B. Sheer Conditioning Lipstick – the colour of this lipstick looks lovely and wearable – a dusty pinky nude – but the packaging is ever so slightly tacky

Then for the sample sizes:

∞ Ghost Eclipse Perfume – while I don’t think I’m going to rush out and purchase this scent, it’s a nice sample to pop in my handbag for any fragrance-related emergencies

∞ Garnier Oil Infused Nourishing Lotion – this stuff is lovely, I’m just so sad that the sample is so small! Time to commit to a full size I think…

All in all, I’m pretty impressed with the selection of products included in this limited-edition box. There is a good variety – from make up to skincare to bodycare – and I like the fact that they’ve included a few slightly more obscure summery products, like the foot mask and the conditioner.

I have to admit I’m quite excited to see what Glossybox will bring us next…

Leave a comment